Demo not working: no capability name[brand_name]

General question about two step analysis, matchers and other general API questions
chum63
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:22 am

Demo not working: no capability name[brand_name]

Postby chum63 » Mon Oct 07, 2013 9:10 am

I am sure I have the set-up wrong somewhere, but effectively installed the directories as in WURFL zipfile so I could test the demo on the sever. WHen I run I am getting the following error Fatal Error: Uncaught Exception with message 'no capability name[brand_name] - see full message from screen capture on mobile. Does the same on all platforms, but cant track down where it is going wrong.

Any help appreciated as I sure it is something stupid.

It is running on a unix box with PHP Version 5.4.20.
Attachments
Screenshot_2013-10-07-11-27-17.png
Screenshot_2013-10-07-11-27-17.png (139.74 KiB) Viewed 9475 times

kamermans
Posts: 393
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:50 am

Re: Demo not working: no capability name[brand_name]

Postby kamermans » Mon Oct 07, 2013 9:40 am

Sorry for the trouble. This error is caused by the default configuration - we will fix it an re-release it ASAP, but in the meantime, here's what you can do.

Open the file

Code: Select all

examples/demo/inc/wurfl_config_standard.php
and find this section:

Code: Select all

// Optionally specify which capabilities should be loaded
$wurflConfig->capabilityFilter(array(
	'is_wireless_device',
	'preferred_markup',
	'xhtml_support_level',
	'xhtmlmp_preferred_mime_type',
	'device_os',
	'device_os_version',
	'is_tablet',
	'mobile_browser_version',
	'pointing_method',
	'mobile_browser',
	'resolution_width',
));
Now, either remove that block entirely. It is loading only a handful of capabilities, but the demo/index.php page is using some that have not been specified.

Next, delete these folders:

Code: Select all

examples/resources/storage/cache
examples/resources/storage/persistence
Now, when you go back to the demo page, everything will work properly.
Thanks,

Steve Kamerman
ScientiaMobile

Make sure you check out our WURFL Cloud, WURFL InSight and WURFL InFuze products!

sm_support2
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 5:04 pm

Re: Demo not working: no capability name[brand_name]

Postby sm_support2 » Mon Oct 07, 2013 10:29 am

1.5.0.1 has just been released. Thank you

chum63
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:22 am

Re: Demo not working: no capability name[brand_name]

Postby chum63 » Mon Oct 07, 2013 10:45 am

Thank you so much for a prompt reply - that fixed it and the demo is now working.

Just for education - does the capability filter help towards performance if used?

Kind regards, Chris.

kamermans
Posts: 393
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:50 am

Re: Demo not working: no capability name[brand_name]

Postby kamermans » Mon Oct 07, 2013 6:32 pm

Glad to hear you're up and running! Yes, the performance will be increased if capability filtering is used, but it's typically only noticeable on high-traffic sites. It also decreases the size of the persistence folder and the cache (whether on disk or otherwise).
Thanks,

Steve Kamerman
ScientiaMobile

Make sure you check out our WURFL Cloud, WURFL InSight and WURFL InFuze products!

chum63
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:22 am

Re: Demo not working: no capability name[brand_name]

Postby chum63 » Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:12 pm

Thank you - helpful! :D

Chris.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests